Matthew James Adkins To Release ‘Stoned On My Own’

January 28th, 2021

Matthew James Adkins is set to release his first album on September 17th, Stoned On My Own, on WhistlePig Records. The album found Adkins working with producer Bunky Hunt, and has a soulful single title track available for download ahead of the release.

“So many songs on the record took on a life of their own. We originally started making a country album and realized quickly that it was a soul record”. The album features the best of Detroit's musical talent including local trio The Woodward Horns, as well as guitar contributions from Andrew Sovine, of Savanah, Georgia. 

Straight out of high school Matthew had his first of three children and began his career as an Architectural Sheet  metal worker which paid the bills for the next 25 years. He worked hard to raise his family with no regrets, but  always knew it wasn’t what he was meant to do. Like most people Matthew has had his share of heartaches and darkness to deal with in life. He used writing as an outlet and therapy to cope. Unfortunately he also used a lot of drugs and alcohol as well. With his new found sobriety, Matthew has been working hard to answer his true calling to be a songwriter.

The Michigan native will deliver an album release show near Detroit on Aug. 20th, followed by a planned showcase at this year's AmericanaFest in Nashville.

Track Listing for Stoned On My Own: 

1. Shadows
2. Stoned On My Own
3. The Scarlett Rose
4. Come Back Jimmy
5. Rivers & Streams
6. The Empath 
7. Bittersweet
8. Maybe I Wanna Cry
9. I Can't Change It


There was always something about a song that could speak to me and stir my heart unlike spoken words ever could.” - Matthew James Adkins

Join the Matthew James Adkins email list for the latest news